Social Security





In order to determine if you are disabled and entitled to Social Security Disability benefits, the Social Security Administration will proceed through a five-step process to examine your entitlement to benefits. Those steps are as follows:


  1. Are you performing substantial gainful activity?

  2. Do you have a severe medically determinable impairment?

  3. If you have a severe impairment, do you meet or equal a social security regulation?

  4. Can you perform your past relevant work?

  5. Can you perform any other work?



The following link to the Social Security Administration describes in detail what the above requirements mean and how they apply to you:  Evaluation of Disability

The Social Security Administration will determine that you meet a listing by comparing your impairment to its Listing of Impairments. The following link will assist you in comparing your impairments to those the Social Security Administration considers severe: Social Security Medical Listing of Impairments


Armstrong Law Office

1209 Central Avenue South * Suite 219 * Kent, Washington 98032



Loren Miller Bar Association Logo
AVVO logo image
Socialize With Us 

© 2014 by Armstrong Law.  Proudly created with